Jun 262009


Manasa puja of the Guru

Om brutpadamam aasanam dadhyaat  // Sahasraar achutaamrutaihi //
Paadyam charanayor dadhyaat // Manastu arghyam nivedayet //
Tena amrutena achamaneeyam // Snaaneeyam tenachasmrutam //
Aakasha tattvam vastram syaat // Gandha syaat gandhatattvakam//
Chittam prakalpayet pushpam // Dhoopam praanaan prakalpayet //
Tejas tattvamcha deepaartham // Naivedyam syaat sudhaam buddhihi //
Anaahata dhvanir ghantaa // Vaayu tattvancha chaamaram//
Sahasraaram bhaveth chhatram // Shabda tattvamcha geetakam //
Nrutyaamindriya karmaani // Chaanchalyam manasastathaa //
Sumekhalaam padmamaalaam // Pushpam naanaa vidham tathaa //
Amaayaadyair bhaava pushpaihi // Archayet bhaava gocharam //
Amokahm adam bhancha// Advesha akshaubakau tathaa//
Amaayam anahankaaram // Araagam amadam tathaa //
Amaatsaryam alobhancha // Dasha pushpam vidurbuddha //
Ahimsa parama pushpam // Pushpam indriya nigrahaha //
Daya pushpam kshama pushpam // Gnaana pushpam cha panchamam//
Iti panchadashair bhaaava pushpaihi // sampoojayet satgurum //

Om brutpadamam aasanam dadhyaat  – I offer my heart as a seat for the Guru. The heart referred here refers to the center of your being – the place where you feel yourself when you close your eyes and remember your name

Sahasraar achutaamrutaihi – Amruta – Nectar of bliss- which comes from the sahasraar – the energy center at the top of the head I offer to my Guru. The nectar from the sahasraar comes from a sense of dee gratitude or connection with the Guru.

Paadyam charanayor dadhyaat –  I offer the same amruta to wash his feet with deep gratitude

Manastu arghyam nivedayet – I offer my mind as a flower at his feet. We are no more struggling with our mind.

Tena amrutena achamaneeyam – The same amruta, I offer as water to him to rinse his mouth.

Snaaneeyam tenachasmrutam – The same amruta, I offer to him for his bath

Aakasha tattvam vastram syaat – To the Guru who is one with the existance, what can I offer as cloth? The whole sky – aakasha – I offer as cloth to him.

Gandha syaat gandha tattvakam  – The whole planet is called gandha syaat, which I offer as sandal paste to my Guru.

Chittam prakalpayet pushpam – Chitta is the collected samskaras or engrams or engraved memories that are stored in us as a result of past and they affect our decision making. That chitta, that many thought that come to our mind, I offer as flowers at his feet. The old memories, the visualisation, I offer as flowers at his feet, and they will never be taken back.

Dhoopam praanaan prakalpayet – The whole prana – inhalation and exhalation – is the incense stick for him. The breath which is going in and out , I offer as insence stick to him.

Tejas tattvamcha deepaartham – The light that shines without any outside source, the sourceless effulgent light is tejas. The only sourceless light is the atma, the soul or the individual consciousness. That, I offer as arati to him.

Naivedyam syaat sudhaam buddhihi – The pure intelligence, which happens with enlightenment and the constant rememberance of purposelessness or nirvana, I offer as naivedyam – food – to my Guru.

Anaahata dhvanir ghantaa – The anaahata dhvani – the uncreated sound of silence  – is the bell for the puja.

Vaayu tattvancha chaamaram –  Vaayu is the breeze or air that I offer as fan to Guru. Inside us are 5 types of pranas or air movements. Air that is going in, stay in, spreading all over, cleaning and coming out. These five air activities I offer as chamaram for Guru.

Sahasraaram bhaveth chhatram – When we become enlightened, our sahasraar blossoms with gratitude like a thousand petalled lotus, that I offer as an umbrella for him.

Shabda tattvamcha geetakam – The shabda, the principle sound of the universe, is the music for him. Shabda tattva means that which converts air into sound. In the area near the throat, this shabda tattva is present.

Nrutyaamindriya karmaani – Whatever our indriyas or five senses do, whether smelling, eating, seeing, touching or listening, we offer everything at the feet of the master.

Chaanchalyam manasastathaa – The wavering of the mind is offered as a dance to him.

Sumekhalaam padmamaalaam – Sumangalam nadi means the backbone in which the kundalini shakti is rising. The backbone is also called meru danda. On this the seven chakras or vital energy centers are present as seven lotus flowers. When the chakras are clean, they are like blossomed lotuses. My 7 chakras I put as a lotus garland for you.

Pushpam naanaa vidham tathaa – We offer at his feet, the ten flowers that are : delusion, ego, attachment, pride, lust, bragging, vengeance, suffering, engraved memories and miserliness. We offer these flowers at the Guru’s feet.

Amaayaadyair bhaava pushpaihi – The absence of maya; illusion becomes this flower we offer at the feet of the master.

Archayet bhaava gocharam – We offer all our emotions at the feet of the Guru

Amaayam anahankaaram – I offer the flower of Ego at the feet of my Guru.

Araagam amadam tathaa – Araagam means dislike, Mada mean not projecting your fantasies on another person, not trying to bend and alter that person according to your fantasies. One has to give up attraction and repulsion that constantly trigger our lust and greed and are not allowing our mind to be contented in the present moment. I offer these two very rare flowers at his holy feet.

Amokham adam pancha – These fifth adn sixth flowers symbolize desire and deceit. I offer then with pure feelings of desirelessness and deceitlessness at his feet.

Advesha akshaubakau tathaa – Neither hatred nor agitation, are the qualities of our being that are represented in these two flowers. We offer these two flowers at his holy feet.

Amaatsaryam alobhancha – maatsaryam means jealousy and alobha means greed. I offer the flowers of jealousy and greed at the feet of the Guru.

Dasha pushpam vidurbuddha – This garland made out of these ten different types of wisdom, I offer to the feet of my Guru.

Ahimsa parama pushpam – Non violence is the supreme flower among all the flowers and is the most fragrant.

Pushpam indriya nigrahaha – This flower represents our control over our sense organs because these snese organs are the gates of knowledge. One has to control them in order to gain knowledge. I offer this flower at his feet

Daya pushpam kshama pushpam – Flower of kindness, flower of mercy and forgiveness. I am offering at the feet of the Guru.

Gnaana pushpam cha panchamam – The fifteenth flower is the flower of enlightenment. Viveka, which is the quality of discrimination or differentiation between what is good and bad for our spiritual growth. I offer that at teh feet of the Guru.

Iti panchadashair bhaaava pushpaihi // sampoojayet satgurum – We offer these 15 supreme emotions int he form of flowers at the feet of our most revered Guru.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

  One Response to “Manasa puja of the Guru”

  1. Thanks a lot for this text. I searched at many placed and found it only here. Thanks for taking time to give it to the community.

    You many want to proof read it once more. It is a wonderful guru puja sloka.


 Leave a Reply

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>



This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.